Application of 4" Solvent Weld Pipe for Sanitary Building Sewer

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Application of 4" Solvent Weld Pipe for Sanitary Building Sewer

Hey friends, I am a civil engineer researching pipe types used for the SBS on the private side. Solvent weld connected DR35 is permitted per OBC and NPCC, but there is very little information about it available in the usual sources (UniBell PVC manual, pretty much the bible). I work in the area of preventing clean water (inflow and infiltration, or I/I) from getting into sanitary sewer systems. These glued pipes are very sensitive to proper installation, PVC pipe requires proper bedding, haunching, embedment and cover to function properly (it gets its structural integrity from the soil around it. None of these are called for in the OBC/NPCC. A long, rigid pipe is very sensitive to snapping with soil settlement, etc. We see a lot of these failing in a short period of time (a whole bunch of failures around Ottawa recently). Gasketed pipe is more flexible, and is required on the public side. I know drain layers, rather than plumbers, tend to install these, but can anyone comment on their experience, and provide any information about testing, etc., for this pipe (I've been through CSA, ASTM, etc. and all the testing listed was done on gasketed pipe). Thank you! See snap of the two pipe types. We frequently see the shattered DR35 white, glued pipe on site, very, rarely shattered DR35 green pipe...

Probably has to do with expansion and contraction especially with extreme temperature changes.

Gasketed pipe can move while glued pipe can't move. Something has to give.

Rick.
    phoebe it is

Comment

We use cpvc and c900 both of which require careful handling in cold temperatures. During a project in central California over a winter I learned that you cannot drop cpvc lengths of plastic on concrete without shattering or risking a hairline crack.