X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1/2" copper clamps

Okay so I am a carpenter doing a bit of plumbing! But I have a question.
    I installing a shower valve and need to secure the 1/2' copper to the blocking. I do not want to trust the copper nails that come with the clamps. What kind of screws can be used that will not cause a problem with the copper?
    I could use some help ASAP as I want to close up the wall in the next day or 2. Thanks,Tom

I don't believe there is anything wrong with the copper nails. Aluminum or Galvanized roofing nails work good. They do make a strap for copper lines that are plastic and come with nails already in the strap. They come in sizes from 1/4" up to at least 1''. Should be in any hardware store. I've had no problems with any of the brands.
    Last edited by Mastadon; 03-20-2006, 12:00 PM.
    If it weren't for your plumber, you wouldn't have any place to go!

Comment

The galvanized will last longer than the aluminum. The copper strap won't corrode, the nails will. If you put copper and aluminum together in a moist environment, the aluminum will corrode pretty quickly. If you use galvanized, the zinc coating will be the sacrificial metal, thus protecting both the copper and the steel nail.
      Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

If you are strapping copper lines to wood blocking, use copper 2-hole pipe clamps, screwed in with brass wood screws. This will avoid elecrolysis problems, and hold it secure for decades.

Using galvanized straps on copper without insulating it will cause electrolysis, and is against code.
        Last edited by plumbdog10; 03-21-2006, 12:47 AM.
        the dog

Comment