Sink backup

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sink backup

I have my own little drain cleaning business and I came across a plumbing problem I think. Not being a plumber I would like you experts to comfirm my thoughts on the problem. Customer had a friend replace basement sink in bathroom and hooked drain line from sink to just above trap for washer drain. So when customer runs washer on spin and water runs into drain pipe it can't handle the sudden flow and backs up into bathroom sink. I snaked washer line but problem is still there. I told customer that the sink should have it's own drain line and not T into washer drain line. Is that correct ? Thank you for your help.

Originally posted by wizzy View Post
    I have my own little drain cleaning business and I came across a plumbing problem I think. Not being a plumber I would like you experts to comfirm my thoughts on the problem. Customer had a friend replace basement sink in bathroom and hooked drain line from sink to just above trap for washer drain. So when customer runs washer on spin and water runs into drain pipe it can't handle the sudden flow and backs up into bathroom sink. I snaked washer line but problem is still there. I told customer that the sink should have it's own drain line and not T into washer drain line. Is that correct ? Thank you for your help.

Wizzy,

I'm sure you're correct but you did not provide the information necessary to make the call with certainty.

Typically the flood rim of the lavatory sink is around 32” while the flood rim of the stand pipe might be as high as 40”. If you are dumping water into a 2” stand pipe the water will fill the sink before it will fill the stand pipe which will allow water to spill out of the sink.

Mark
    "Somewhere a Village is Missing Twelve Idiots!" - Casey Anthony

I never lost a cent on the jobs I didn't get!

Comment

wizzy, sounds like 2 fixtures on the same trap and possibly double trapping of the sink.