X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Table Saw for a Novice

The title describes my woodworking ability so far. I am just starting and would like to make a table saw my first stationary tool.

After reading several reviews I had decided on the TS3650. Then I found this forum and have spent a couple of days reading various threads. Some of these raised some concerns - at least as far as my abilities are concerned.

The two things that I read which really concerned me are associated with "user fixes":

1. Discussion about wobbly legs that users have crossbraced themselves.
    2. The TS3650 Assembly Tips thread that talks about the installation manual being wrong and several people who assembled their saws using what sounds like "user work-arounds" or by returning the saw to the nearest service center.

As I said, I am a novice plus I live in a remote area 4 hours from the nearest service center. I am also not real interested in making my own changes to the saw. These posts have made me very nervous about purchasing this saw. Are my concerns valid?, Is there another saw that would be better/easier to assemble?, or would most saws have these potential problems?

I can follow directions but am worried about user modifications or workarounds. Thanks for any/all help or suggestions anyone might have. (Sticking to hunting and fishing is a valid, but not preferred suggestion)

Steve

Originally posted by vermilionsteve View Post
    The title describes my woodworking ability so far. I am just starting and would like to make a table saw my first stationary tool.

After reading several reviews I had decided on the TS3650. Then I found this forum and have spent a couple of days reading various threads. Some of these raised some concerns - at least as far as my abilities are concerned.

The two things that I read which really concerned me are associated with "user fixes":