Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sorting out the 18v battery types

I'm new to Ridgid tools.
    I'm a little confused about the 18v battery types.
    I have Max 2.5 Ah.
    Are these the latest bateries?
    What are the Max HC?
    Are they better than the Max 2.5 Ah?

I have the 18v X2 hammer drill, reciprocating saw, 6 1/2" circular saw, flashlight, single port charger & jigsaw. I want the 18v planer.
    Any advice?

Thanks!!
    Last edited by Peter18v; 12-21-2006, 10:30 PM. Reason: Unfinished

do a search for the myriad of battery topics

the 18v hc battery is rated at 1.9AH
    the newer 18v is rated at 2.5AH
    they are both nicad batteries

you may want to do a search on this forum as there are many interesting posts discussing the batteries and chargers
    in fact, I recently posted my review [opinion] of the dual charger VS the single charger. I also discussed the hc 1.9AH and the 2.5AH battery and my experience.

I have the planer and it does run longer with the 2.5AH battery

Cactus Man

Comment

4 types of 18v batteries.

There are 4 types of 18V batteries.

Before the MaxHC, there was a plain black battery that was 1.4AmpHr (if I recall correctly.)

The MaxHC came out at 1.9AmpHr.

The Max2.5 is 2.5AmpHr and is currently the largest NiCad Ridgid makes...quite possibly the end of the NiCad line too.

Finally, Ridgid has shown a Lithium-Ion 18V battery on their MaxSelect tool packages but it hasn't been released yet. I assume it will be compatible with current 18V tools...or worst case, be compatible with a small modification (some people have posted that they've used the 24V Li-Ion battery with their 18V tools...though I would recommend against that.) Believe the 18V Lithium-Ion is 3AmpHr.