X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• band saw info

Newbie here and enjoying the comraderie of this forum .I want to purchase a band saw. I started making cat condos and small dog houses to supplement my income. At a later date I might expand my projects and start a little business. Would like to know your opinions and advise on what type of bandsaw I should purchase? Money is a concern but I do not mind spending it for a good product.

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE

IMO, and remember that it's worth what you paid for it, the weakest link in the RIDGID product line is their bandsaw. If you utilize the search feature at the top of the page you'll find many threads dealing with this subject. Basically my feeling is that it's underpowered, requires excessive tweaking to get it setup properly and the lack of an included fence and quick blade tensioner make it overpriced. For around $100 more saws like the Grizzly G0555 offer better value and features.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I 2nd BD's opinion. Although I current own a bench top BS I got for free from a neighbor a few years ago, I will most likely lean towards a Grizzly or possibly a Delta in the future when my shop comes together.
      Still enjoying all 10 fingers!

Comment

I totally agree with Badger Dave. Although there are some who are quite happy with their Ridgid bandsaws, I think most of the comments that you will read are either negative or expand on the number of steps it took to get the tool to perform properly.

The Grizzly model that BD referred to has received some very positive comments on the few forums that I visit. Also you might want to check out the Craftsman 14-inch bandsaw that is made by Rikon. It is built very well and has some excellent features. I believe it to be slightly higher in price than the Grizzly, but it does go on sale quite often.