X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another Ridgid TS3650 Arbor/Dado question

For those of you both familiar with the arbor issue and this reoccuring discusison, my sincere apology up front for bringing it up again.

BUT, since (1) I am somewhat new to woodworking, (2) I have read the previous posts... all 999,204 of them AND (3) I still don't know the answer, I am going to ask your indulgence and fire away since it is a safety issue.

I have a 2 yr old Ridgid TS3650 which SHOULD have the longer/OK arbor. But I just tried to put on a 3/4" dado stack (yes.. Frued, but not the dial-a-dado kind) and I could only get 3/4 of a turn on the arbor nut.

TWO questions:

1) is that to be expected (ie you can't put a stack that thick on

2) is it ok to remove the flange (if that is the right name for the wichimijigi between the arbor nut and the blade) and just have on the arbor nut.

Thanks for you patience. I have the day off tomorrow, so any answers right away MUCH appreciated.

With a dado stack-up you do not need to use the flange washer. just use the nut. The thick stack is stable enough not to need the washer. Make sure the teeth of the individual blades/chippers are offset so as not to interfere with the stack fitting tight down at the hub (arbor). Some sets include this in the directions, and some don't, but it is an accepted practice and it is safe. One thing that you do need to watch out for is that without the washer, the outside blade (closest to the nut) will rotate as you tighten the nut. It may take a couple of trys to get it tight without the teeth resting against each other.