X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fence Accuracy on the 3650

I've got the TS3650 and I've been using it for about 2 years with good results but I have an issue with the rip fence. I've adjusted the fence rip width indicator to be dead on and it is very accurate above 30 inches. When I then try to rip something 4 or 5 inches wide, it's off by as much as 1/8". So I recalibrate it with a small width cut of 4 or 5 inches and test it and it's dead on for the small width cuts - then I cut a 30 inch wide board and it's off by, you guessed it, 1/8". Could the measuring tape itself be out of whack? Is the fence not parallel to the blade? I bought this saw partially because of the fence's design and I'd like to not entertain the idea of upgrading to an aftermarket fence. Any ideas?

Re: Fence Accuracy on the 3650

What if you put a known good tape measure on the tape on the rail and verify? I would imagine if the tape on the saw was off by that much it would be noticeable then? I have read of others being a very slight off, but more like 1/128th or even less and not 1/8". A few have even bought an aftermarket tape and replaced the one on the saw.
    Still enjoying all 10 fingers!

Comment

Double check and make sure that the 7-1/8" mark on the tape measure is positioned at the RH side of the saws top where the table and the extension wing come together.
      Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

Be sure the rails are parallel to each other horizontally and are parallel to the table top vertically. Also, have you checked the wings for squareness?

Comment