Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid 16 Gallon Pro Vac modelm WD1850

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to ask if Craftsman and Ridgid branded vacuums are the same units. I've heard from a few people that Ridgid makes them for sears.

Also I'm interested in buying the WD1850 shop vac but Ridgid doesn't really translate their performance figures into numbers that I can always compare. For shop vacs I'm traditionally used to looking at CFM ratings or how many inches of "water lift" each model is capable of.

I was actually quite interested in the Ridgid "tool box" shaped 4.5 gallon vacuum but at only 5 peak HP I wasn't sure if that was enough to do some serious dirt pulling from the carpets of really dirty car interiors.

I've been using a craftsman 60 liter shop vac for over 10 years that was rated at 200 CFM and that unit had some serious suction power.

I want a vacuum in the sub $200 CAD price range.

Right now the Home depot is selling the WD 1850 for 229.00 and the tool box 4.5 gallon vac for 129.99

I don't do workworking or anything just car cleaning but I do car cleaning in large #'s each week.

How can one do a relative comparison of peak HP figures vs. overall suction performance? Also is Ridgid reliable? what's their parts support like?

Recommendations?
    Thanks

Re: Ridgid 16 Gallon Pro Vac modelm WD1850

Ridgid doesn't make them for Craftsman. Some other company makes them for both Ridgid and Craftsman.

I've got a 16 gallon Ridgid blower/vac and the performance is excellent. I love it. I had the switch break within 2 months of getting it though and found out here that apparently it's a common issue. A bit of a weak link, having nothing to do with the actual vacuuming.

Comment

hmm interesting that another company actually makes them for Ridgid and Craftsman.