X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing drive belt on mini PC belt sander

So I paid the ten bucks to get the replacement drive belt for my belt sander rather than have it wait for two weeks in line at the repair shop before they even touch it. I was thinking I'd just pop the new one on myself.

They don't exactly "pop" on, do they? I'm still new to fangled machine repair so if anyone can tell me how to get this thing on properly I'd appreciate the help. It is grooved on the inside and the wheels have grooves as well. There is pic attached.

Is it doable for the knuckle headed?
    Attached Files
    Last edited by woodenstickers; 05-14-2007, 08:28 PM.
    A good carpenter makes few mistakes, a great carpenter can fix his own.

Re: Replacing drive belt on mini PC belt sander

Don't have one myself, but from the pic the key seems to be the right pulley. It has 2 flats on the shoulder and a hex stud through it, so I would loosen (remove) the hex screw using an open end wrench on the flats and see if I could slide it on and then reinstall the hex screw.

Go
    Practicing at practical wood working

Comment

Wrap it around one pulley and then you are essentially going to force it onto the other while turning it. One groove at a time. It will stretch to fit it is just tight.

Comment

I'm shocked you need a new one so soon. So much for PC quality. Guess they shoulda kept making their product in the USA instead of mexico.
        You can never have enough drills-too many is just enough!!!!!

Comment

I think Gofor has the right solution
          Cheers! - Jim
          -------------
          All truth passes through three stages: First it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident. - Schopenhauer

Comment