X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS2400 potential buyer. Arbor question

Newbie here. Looking for a portable table saw.

Deal breakers for me so far based on internet reviews:

DW744-table top wears too quickly

Makita 2703-miter slot issues/ fence appears to have either too much flex
    or doesn't lock down very well. Would probably get one if the
    fence could be used by blocking the outfeed end (don't know
    what the problem is other than people say the fence sucks.)
    The 2703 has a needle bearing one one end of the arbor.
    (The 2704 has a ball bearing in the same location btw)
    Wonder if bolting a 90 degree bracket to either side of the
    fence and clamping that down to the table would end that
    complaint. Also arbor wobble has been mentioned.

Bosch 4000 looked at one in Sears and it just doesn't look as good as the
    TS2400-the fence looks sort of tiny in comparison and it costs
    another $150 more than the Ridgid. Fence issues reported online

Craftsman (BT31 clone)
    : I had the Ryobi and it was a pretty good saw. The craftsman just looks
    like it has too many moving parts to be dependable in the long run. All the
    weight had sag issues over long time sitting per reviews. I left the rails and
    tables in the box when not using the saw.

Two things I liked about the Ryobi- 3 1/2 inch depth of cut and
    the arbor has three bearings and double
    belt drive. The craftsman manual does
    not show an exploded view of their arbor
    assembly like Ryobi so nobody knows if
    it has three bearings or not.

Pretty much the other models Skil/ PC/ Hitachi/etc. had their flaws pointed out and are not candidates for me at this time.

What I like so far after looking at the TS2400LS:
    *It just looks like a quality piece
    *full sized real miter slot on both sides
    *Easy blade parallel adjustments from the top
    *angle knob adjust or just pull to the angle you want