Ridgid 18V drill LI vs. NiCad

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid 18V drill LI vs. NiCad

Been reading this forum for the last couple of days, I am new to the Ridgid line of tools and had may questions that have already been asked.

Our local HD has the 18V NiCad available for 119 and the LI for 129 but the LI only includes 1 battery.

Is there a significant difference in run time that would justify going for the LI with the single battery? This is for home and hobby use only, so I can't associate the cost of work related downtime if I don't have a fully charged battery.

Recommendations?

Re: Ridgid 18V drill LI vs. NiCad

I have the Ridgid 18 volt set with nicads and as a homeowner you have several advantages to using lithium batteries. Unlike the pro who is using his tools all day and running the batteries down prior to charging, you and I have less frequent and prolonged drain times on our batteries. The chance of building up the memory in a nicad is much greater for guys like us. Since our batteries also may sit for long periods of time between uses they can greatly discharge and either require charging prior to use or suffer more serious damage from discharge. The lithiums do not have a problem with memory and can be charged or topped off with no ill effects. They hold their charge for a very long time, so if you pick up your drill after not using it for a long time you're good to go. If you don't have to make your purchase "Right Now", wait a bit longer to see if Ridgid offers a kit with two of the longer amp hour lithiums. I think it's worth both the wait and a little more money in the long run. If you need to get that drill quick be aware that the compact lithium battery is only 1.5AH compared to the 2.5AH of the nicads.

Comment

Frank is spot on... (where were you when I was shopping for a drill ?)