Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spindle came out while drilling - Advice

Hi folks,

This is my first time posting and a little ignorant with the drilling part terms. Also apologize for the large pictures.

I was using a spade bit to drill through a 4x6 and about half way through, I drilled into a knot which locked up the chuck resulting in the chuck and spindle coming out. I've posted pictures in hopes that if I identified something wrong, you guys could tell me.

In regards to the spindle and chuck, I pressed the spindle back into the quill just like we would to install a new chuck.

What are the chances of the spindle and chuck coming loose again?

Sincerely,
    -Tim
    Last edited by tlj; 12-01-2007, 12:08 AM. Reason: changed title from spindle to arbor

Re: Spindle came out while drilling - Advice

Tim

I hope you cleaned things up well before pressing them together. The part attached to the chuck is an arbor. It's made so using a drill drift through the slot (see pictures) it can be removed. To help it stay in, place a wood block on the drill press table and turn the crank so the chuck (with jaws open) comes down. Give it a few good hard taps using up and down cranking. If you can think of an angry woodpecker. Another way would be to use a plastic or wood hammer and strike upward. Vibration will sometime shake them loose. When drilling try to STOP fast if there's lots of chatter-vibration and lower the spindle speed some. All mating parts must be very clean before putting them together.

With your drill press you have a female socket spindle with a Morse taper. This is inside of the quill. An arbor has two male ends. One (long taper) is the Morse taper end and the other which is shorter is the Jacobs taper end which fits into the chuck.
    Last edited by Woussko; 11-30-2007, 11:49 PM.

Comment

Hi Woussko,