Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New drill. Three choices... $100 budget.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New drill. Three choices... $100 budget.

Hi. I'm looking for a new cordless drill / driver. First of all, I'm a college student on a budget. I won't be going into a career that requires any tools, so this is an investment for a future homeowner / weekend project / DIY kind of person. That being said, I'm no stranger to a construction site. I know the value of a quality tool that will last many years. I just won't be putting daily stress on it, so I don't need the best.
    I'm limited to the selection at HD, since I have a $50 gift card that I want to put towards it. My budget is about $50 plus the $50 gift card, so $100 total.
    All three are Li-ion models.
    The three drills I'm considering are:
    1. Ridgid 18v Li-ion - $100. Stripped down model with just the drill and one battery.
    2. B&D VPX 14v Li-ion - $100
    3. Skill 18v Li-ion. - $100.

My concerns on each:
    Ridgid. 1.5Ahr battery. It only comes with one battery, will that be enough? I know I'm looking at a nice chunk of money if I have to break down and get another battery. No case as well.

B&D. This one scares me. It looks like a toy, and in my opinion, it is targeted towards DIYers that should not be DIYing. I can't find info on the battery's Ahr. It's new and I'm not sure if it can be trusted yet.

Skill. No info on Ahr here either. I have the feeling that Skill is also a "cheaper" brand.

Any thoughts on my concerns here would be appreciated. Also, I'm willing to look at other alternatives besides these three, but I'd like to stay away from Ni-cad. Please keep my budget in mind. I can do $150 as an investment, but $200 is out of the question.

Thanks.

Re: New drill. Three choices... $100 budget.