X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• miter saw

im looking for a new miter saw and im looking at the 12in sliding dewalt dw718 the 12in sliding ridgid ls1290 the 10in sliding bosch 4410 and the the ridgid dbl bevel 12in r4121 anybody gon one of these? what do you think of them?

Re: Ok, I'll bite..

There has been a lot of discussion here about the Ridgid saw. Many will recommend that you don't buy it. I have the MS1290LZA, and I really like it, but I have very little experience.
    Do a search on some of these terms and you'll find all kinds of opinions.

Comment

Re: miter saw

thanks

Comment

I have the mS1290LZA and the MS1250LZ. Both are GREAT saws. The have VERY large tables th support wide stock to 2x12 with out tipping. As well, unlike the DeWalt and some others where there are large 'V' notches to either side of the bed, small bits of wood get caught in there and small stock like trim has a tendency to get caught in there.

OK, so, the ONLY problem I have with my saws is with the 1290LZA (The Slider).
        The throat plate is a two piece adjustable unit. You can loosen it and close up the gap next to the blade for Zero-clearance cuts. It is rather flimsy and mine has cracked near the outer edge of the table. I am not much for open thorat plates, as when you trim or square ends of material, everything ends u in the throat. I have actually had some guys get hit with material that was ejected rather forecefully when the waste built up enough in there to catch the blade. Needless to say, my guys keep the throat clear of debris now. To solve this issue, I made my own Zero-clearance insert much the same as you would use on a table saw. It took a couple of tries to get it right, But, I have a very SAFE insert now, made of hardwood and I can make more easily, as I have kept the first one as a pattern.

Other than that, very rugged and dependable saws. Best on the market, In MY Humble Opinion.

Comment