X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3650 or 2400LS

I'm new to the game so I've only started to buy tools.. woot!

Looking at table saws, both the Ridgid 3650 and 2400LS and I'm a little stumped.. I have a pretty big garage and the 3650 will fit, but I'm wondering that would be like learning to ride a bicycle, but buying a Ninja 1100. However, I don't want to purchase tools that will only last me a year either.

My plans are to start building furniture. I'm fascinated with antique furniture and would like to learn a lot of the old ways, but at the same time making sure I have good tools to work with. I've look at a lot of the larger power tools and I like the look and quality of Ridgid so I've decided I'm only putting Ridgid power tools in my garage. I seem to have a problem of not liking the rainbow assortment of tools in the garage. I figure if I'm going to do this, I'm going to do this right.

My first project is to build a workbench. I'm not going to use any nails or screws. 10' wide, 3' deep, 3' high. 2x4x10 up right for the table top, 4x4 legs.. Some what of the style shown in Christopher Schwarz "Workbenches" book. Here is a CAD I did of it.. I'm not that good in CAD, lol.. http://www.chizl.com/aspuploaded/workbench.jpg

Thanks for any feedback.
    Chizl

Re: 3650 or 2400LS

If you have those type of plans (you are in the same boat as me) go for the 3650 funds permitting. I don't think it is really comparable to the 2400 when you are considering making furniture and the like. The 36" capacity of the 3650 is really helpful for these type of things, plus, it weighs almost 300 lbs, so it will be more stable. If you are planning on putting a bench in your shop that big, you must have a pretty big shop, so the portability of the 2400 isn't needed.