X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Twist-Lock Cords

I recently heard that tying cords together can damage cords and cause short circuits and that twist-lock cords are a better option. Has anyone used twist-lock cords on power tools in the past? I was also wondering if they are a requirement in any parts of the counry. Thanks a lot guys. Take care.

Re: Twist-Lock Cords

Not a requirement down here and never used them, but I will agree that tying them together can cause shorts. I work in the wire and cable industry and have seen plenty of times how the jacket can start to seperate and expose the wiring on cables. It's not a big concern and many variables on how long they will last, but I imagine after years of use and trying together they will eventually seperate and could be a hazard. Best bet just make sure to inspect ou cord from time to time and replace wore out ones.

Comment

Twist lock cords are not a requirement in Canada on a job site, but they are in the theatre/movie/tv industry, and are widely used also in industrial settings.

I too disagree with tying cords together. I always used to use a quick wrap or two of electrical tape from one side to another. But I've seen a type of plug connector thingy that works well.

I've seen it at HD before. It's orange rubber, and basically stretches out and it's two ends slip onto each extension cord on either side of the connected plugs. It then secures the connection, and is a safe method, without creating any posibility of wear or damage to your cords from tying them together. I just tried looking for a picture online, but couldn't find it, but I know I've see them all over the place at HD before.

Comment

Twist-Lock is great if you have matching receptacles and extension cords. Cost may well play a factor and make you back away from them.