Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TS3650 RPM Question...

Hello Gents,

I have been reading this forum for information on the TS3650 and I must say there is a wealth of information.

I noticed the specs on this saw have it listed at 3450RPM. Most of the other saws are much higher, the amps are around 13 for the 110 setup, where some others are at 15amps.

At 3450RPM is it going to be strong enough to power through heavy woods?

I'm a rookie to wood working. So I don't know much about saws and the like. Any light shed on this would be great.

Re: TS3650 RPM Question...

I have ripped 2 1/4" kiln-dried white oak with both 50TPI (tooth per inch) and 60 TPI blades, dadoed 3/4" wide by 1" deep, and have resawn white oak to max depth (3 1/2" approx) with this saw. IMHO it is about as good a saw as you will find that can run on 120v.
    You state that you are a newbie to woodworking, so I think this is one of the best saws to start on. If you are getting into production work, where time is of the essence and the saw will be getting hours of use daily, then a true cabinet saw in the 3+HP range (220v and possibly 3 phase) would be more appropriate. If you fall into the "hobby" class, where you make your own furniture and some for customers, than this saw will do that.
    Also, realize "more RPM" does not mean better performance. A 5000 RPM saw at 15 amps does not have as much torque (the power needed to push the cutting edge through the wood) as a 13A 3450 RPM saw. Higher speed also means more impact to the cutting edge and more heat buildup from friction, both which contribute to faster deterioration of the blade. This has long been a factor in the design of drill presses, and recently in jig saws and routers in order to lower the speed to prevent destroying the cutter/blade.

JMTCW

Go
    Practicing at practical wood working

Comment