Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mitre saw problem

Hello to all on the forum!

I have a problem my P Pro Slide Compound Mitre Saw. It was working fine one minute and then, quite suddenly started splintering my picture frame mouldings and on one occasion (this was when I switched it off until I got advice) threw the moulding that I was cutting towards me narrowly missing my eyes! It also damaged the opening which the circular blade finishes the mitre cut.

I bought the machine 4 years ago and so the 3 year warranty has run out, however, I have only used the machine for 6 months out of the 4 years as it was in storeage due to my living abroad so I find it hard to believe that it needs a service or a new blade as has been suggested to me.

I am an artist and I make my own frames with this saw and I need it urgently to frame a commission painting.

Do you have any idea's?

Thank you in anticipation.

Barbara

Re: Mitre saw problem

Could be you need to replace the blade or at least get the original OEM one sharpened. One other area to check would be the saws alignment.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I would start by going through the manual and checking all the adjustments, pay particular attention to bevel and miter locks.
      What kind of blade do you have? It should have a negative hook angle on the teeth to prevent the problem you are having.
      No disrespect intended but did you perhaps install the blade backwards?

Comment

Many thanks to both of you for your advice. I will act on it and let you know.

Barbara

Comment