X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Throat Plates

Need some more help. Need a throat plate for my TS3660 that will accomodate my Dado set. Where is the best and most reasonable price place to get one? What other accessories are there that I might need for this saw? Thanks Triker

Re: Throat Plates

The best and cheapest place to get them is from your scrap bin. If you search for throat plate I recall there being a couple of really good descriptions on how to make them

Comment

I never buy throat plates, I make them specific to my saw out of oak.
      Some fellas make them out of plywood or flooring scraps.

A cross cut sled to me is a must.
      Push stick.
      Feather boards.
      Taper jig.
      Wixey gauge.
      Last edited by Davet; 11-12-2008, 05:32 AM.

Comment

I'm fairly new to this, Davet. What is a crosscut sled, and a wixey gauge? I know what push sticks and feather boards are, and have a taper jig, but don't have a clue as to what the other are. Explain please. Thanks Triker

Comment

A crosscut sled is something that allows you to push wood across the blade. Whereas a rip cut is what you do when you cut wood along the grain (long cut), a crosscut is when you cut across the grain. A crosscut sled allows you to hold the wood up against a fence and push it across the blade. This article will teach you how to make a crosscut sled.

The Wixey digital angle gauge is a handy little tool that will show you exactly the angle of your blade relative to the table. You put the little Wixey on the table and press the Zero button to zero the thing to your table top (calibrate it to the table). Then you put the gauge on the saw blade and read the angle. I use it to set my blade to any angle, actually. If I need a 7 degree angle on the blade, I know I can get there each and every time without question. It really makes the saw much more reliable and cuts more repeatable. This is the Wixey gauge at Woodcraft.