Shopping For A Miter Saw

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Shopping For A Miter Saw

I'm looking to purchase a 12" dual bevel miter saw with a slide.
    I've been pricing and comparing and I've pretty much narrowed it down to DeWalt and Ridgid. HD has the DeWalt DW718 for $679.00 and the Ridgid MS1290LZA for $549.00.
    Here is the catch; I'm a novice as far as carpentry goes, but I want to get something I can grow into rather than learn on something I'll have to sell in order to progress as my skills improve and that just as I'm getting comfortable with the saw.
    Any veterans available for suggestions and tips?
    I'm not looking for a brand loyalist but rather someone who's familiar with miter saws.
    Thanks,

Re: Shopping For A Miter Saw

A little more info would be helpful. What is your goal? Are you leaning toward constuction type activities, cabinet making, furniture building? All of the above?
    Jim

Comment

Well, my wife and I just started remodeling our home and I believe she'll want me to do all that you mentioned and more. I made an agreement with her in that if we are going to remodel all I ask is that we get the right tools for the job. Presently we are getting ready to replace a shower that had ceremaic tile with a three piece shower insert and then by December we will be redoing the kitchen.
      I'll be cutting molding, plywood, base boards and eventually I'll be repairing my shed and building a swimming pool deck.
      Sorry for the lengthy reply but thanks so much for the help.

Comment