X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pros and Cons of Ridgid Routers

Does anyone have any feedback on the fixed and plunge based routers. I am looking to buy a new router. I had a Craftsman and it only lasted a little over 20 hours and it quit working. I am a weekend woodworker and that isn't a long time. I am looking for some feedback to see if the Ridgid is going to last longer than the Craftsman. I have alot of other Ridgid tools. I am looking for quality in my Router as I would like to use it much more. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I have been pleased with all of my other Ridgid tools.

Re: Pros and Cons of Ridgid Routers

Originally posted by angelmanbaby View Post
    Does anyone have any feedback on the fixed and plunge based routers. I am looking to buy a new router. I had a Craftsman and it only lasted a little over 20 hours and it quit working. I am a weekend woodworker and that isn't a long time. I am looking for some feedback to see if the Ridgid is going to last longer than the Craftsman. I have alot of other Ridgid tools. I am looking for quality in my Router as I would like to use it much more. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I have been pleased with all of my other Ridgid tools.
    Can't give an opinion on the Ridgid router with 2 bases but I think Ridgid missed the mark on this one. After using a D-Handle router I find it so much easier to use the D-Handle than any other base. If and When I buy a new router it will have a fixed base, plunge base and a d-handle base.

Comment

I can't give you an opinion on Ridgid routers. I have a couple of Porter-Cable 690 series that you couldn't pry out of my hands! I have an old Craftsman -- probably 25 years old -- that still works OK as long as I stick with small diameter bits. I keep that one set up for a half-blind dovetail jig.
      John

Comment