Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LSA Question

Newbie here...

I purchased my 18v set from Home Depot. I filled out and received my lifetime service agreement number. After one and a half year of everyday usage, one of my batteries finally bit the dust.

My question is what should I do?I know I can just take it back to Home Depot and tell them it is no good and they will give me a new one, but what about the serial numbers on the battery?

I had a problem with my charger in the past, where the cord was shorted, and Home Depot was nice enough to give me a new charger and let me keep my old one after I explained to them about the serial numbers and the LSA.

I see from this website that there are service centers I can go to and I do have a back up drill and battery to use while I wait. I just don't know how that will work. Do they open up my battery and just replace the cells? Or give me a new battery with a new serial, like Home Depot would, and my LSA is still valid?

I am worried if I take it to Home Depot and get a new battery, with a new serial number, that if I am to have a problem in the future, that my LSA warranty will not be honored due to not having the correct serial number.

Can anyone shed some light on my troubles? Share your experiences?

Thanks,
    NoPans

Re: LSA Question

You need to take the battery to an approved service center. Once you've past 90 days after purchase Home Depot shouldn't be involved any longer. By giving you a different battery, HD may have inadvertently caused you to have some difficulty with LSA coverage down the road because of the different serieal #. I'm not sure how the different serial # situation is handled after a battery has been replaced under the LSA Program. A call to Ridgid Customer Service would probably clear that up though. Let us all know what they say will you?
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment