Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should I Get The TS3650????? HELP

Hey everyone,

Okay so I have read all the reviews until I am blue in the face. I know the 3650 is a very good saw. The question is; should I get it?

The HD by my house has two of them at the clearance price of 399. I currently own the 2410. I like the 2410 a lot. It's mobile so I can store it against the wall in my garage (shop) and still get both cars in. I am a hobbyist so I make some furntiure and some other wood projects from time to time. I have done them all fairly well and pretty accurately on the 2410. It is a bit underpowered and even with thin kerf blades the motor will lag at times. But it does the job quite nicely.

So what are some compelling reasons for me to buy the 3650? The price is a given but what other things will I really notice that is hugely different from the 2410?

I have all the impulsive reasons to buy but I was hoping for the some of the more objective, logical reasons from all of you.

Thanks,
    Tom
    Last edited by Tom5151; 02-03-2009, 08:53 AM.

Re: Should I Get The TS3650????? HELP

I think the real difference between the saws that'll be immediately noticeable is the larger table surface of the 3650. It's just all around a bit more stable with larger stock. The Herculift on the saw makes it moveable, albeit not portable. You're not going to throw the 3650 in the truck and take it with you. Keep the 2410 for those jobs. I kind of wish I had both, actually. There's times I've wanted a TS at a job site. There's many many times I'm glad I have the 3650. Like right now, I have some 6' to 8' lengths of 2" cherry I'm ripping. I'm really happy I have the 3650 to plow through that stuff!! It's doing great with these thick boards.
    I put it all back together better than before. There\'s lots of leftover parts.

Comment