Do I "NEED" a Bandsaw???

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I "NEED" a Bandsaw???

I guess I should have asked this question before I started making offers on craigslist for used bandsaws. Now that I am close to choosing from two of them, I am wondering if I really "NEED" one.

Other than resawing, why does one truly need a bandsaw? That's not meant to be sarcastic. I am a woodworking hobbyist and wondering if I really need one or just want one. I know being able to cut curves is useful but I can sort of do that with a jigsaw too.

What kinds of things do you typically find yourself using it for?

Re: Do I "NEED" a Bandsaw???

I'm sure that many here have asked themselves the very same question, I know I did. I debated with myself for years on whether or not to buy a bandsaw. After much research and hemming and hawing I finally pulled the trigger and my only regret is that I waited so long.

Other than the usual uses that a bandsaw has I find myself using mine for all kinds of little jobs. Because my shop is small many of my tools must be stored away when not being used. Instead of taking out and setting up my miter saw for example I'll make a simple cut using the bandsaw instead as it's always setup and ready to go. Other uses could include things like making taper cuts, cutting large circles, and I even saw a fella make a spoon using a bandsaw.

If there was one big positive for waiting so long to buy my bandsaw it was that I really researched what I wanted and expected out of my bandsaw purchase. In the end, I ended up getting one that was a step above what many consider to be entry level. Yes, I ended up spending more than what I initially figured I'd like to spend but because of the amount of research I did I feel confident that I won't have to upgrade down the road. So in the long run I saved some money. That's my logic and I'm sticking to it!
    Last edited by BadgerDave; 02-27-2009, 01:57 PM.