Rigid R4330 VS Dewalt 735

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rigid R4330 VS Dewalt 735

I am considering on getting a benchtop planer. The two that I am looking at are the Rigid R4330 versis the Dewalt 735. The reviews I have seen have been on the older R4330 that has the 2 posts and not the newer 4 posts one and I have not found any revies on the new 4 post one. So I am looking for any input that anyone out there could give me on the two planers?

Re: Rigid R4330 VS Dewalt 735

I couldn't be more happier than I am with my DW735. It is easily the best benchtop planer out there. If you can find one for $550 or under than I'd recommend you choose it over any other benchtop unit. If you have to pay more than that then I'd recommend you consider spending a couple hundred more and check out some free standing unit. I've no experience with the Ridgid so I really can't comment on it.
    ================================================== ====
    ~~Don't worry about old age; it doesn't last that long.

Comment

I don't own a planer yet, but from what I have read in professional reviews and from lots of posts on this forum, I think the Dewalt is a much better choice of the two. I keep reading where getting parts for the Ridgid is a real pain at best and also about crazy problems with it. On the other hand people that own and use the Dewalt DW735 seem to really like it.

If for nothing else, you can get parts and service for Dewalt and they have service centers all over the USA. My bet is they have several service centers up in Canada too. I haven't checked for service centers other than the USA however.

Comment

Originally posted by BadgerDave View Post