Sliding Compound Miter

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sliding Compound Miter

I have the sliding compound miter, and I've been singing praises about it ever since I got it a few months back. Well my partner just got one too, because he liked using mine. It seems that over the course of just a few months, my table takes a lot more umph for lack of a better word to swing around than his. Also it seems that the spring mechanism which makes the actual saw retract back upwards is sticking and either retracts very slowly or not at all by itself. After using his, mine sucks now. Can this be either lubed or can the spring be tightened some how? Can the table (miter) be adjusted to swing from side to side easier?We're trimming out a 44 unit building, and working side by side everyday just makes me envious of how smoothly his operates compared to mine.

Re: Sliding Compound Miter

Obvious question but do you ever clean out the sawdust buildup on your saw with some compressed air?
    ================================================== ====
    All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

Comment

To Badger's point, sawdust can build up. If you'll PM me your contact info, I can have someone give you a call to dive deeper on the issue. Thanks.

Comment

That Ridgid is one heavy saw. My DeWalt weighs 53 lbs. and the Ridgid comes in at 70 lbs. It's a saw that once set up pretty much stays where it is till the job's done.

Comment

Yeah I spray it off at lunch and at the end of the day every day. Every little bit. I even open the belt housing and spray that out once a week or so. Its just frustrating to have to fight it all day.

Comment