X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Wet Tile Saw WTS2000L

I bought a new Wet Tile Saw model WTS2000L. I have several sheets of tile I am needing to cut basic straight line and wanted it to look really good. It is Italian made Porcillin so nothing special. I have never used a wet tile saw before so it my be how I am using it I dont know. It cuts straight but the edge is chipping almost no matter what speed I push the tile threw. I have tried to push the tile threw fast to bog the motor down and slow like a snail and I always end up with small chips. Not much difference but the faster I push it threw may be little worse. I cant get the water pump to pull water either unless I start it out of the water then put it in the water. I have only cut 4 swipes of a 12 x 12 tile so it is not the water being dirty. Do I need to just buy a new blade and throw the one that came with it away? Hand book has nothing in it to help troubleshoot. A manual cutter does a better job just leaves sharp edges. Which is better then this $600 saw is doing. Thanks for any help in advance.

Re: New Wet Tile Saw WTS2000L

I am not at all familiar with the saw but try cutting the opposite side of the tile.In other words if you have been cutting face up try cutting face down.

Comment

Thanks slink I have tried that and the tile is chipping on the top and bottom sides. When I turned it with the tile face down it was even worse. I think I will buy a new blade and see if that works if not will just go with a manual cutter and save myself $600 unless someone knows what the issue is.

Comment

If you replace the blade please do a follow up post.I never even knew ridgid made a wet saw its a nice looking saw too.

Comment

If you have to go with the snap cutter, get a tile sanding stone. It will soften the sharp edge nicely

Comment