Router Comparison Chart / Finder?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Router Comparison Chart / Finder?

I have a Triton 2 1/4HP mounted in a Rockler table, and would like to get a second router for handheld and dovetail jig use.

I have been playing around with this purchase for 6 months now, and keep changing my mind (the stupidity of THAT is pi**ing me off!)

I can't help but wonder:

Frequently I see sites (stores) that help narrow your choices down to some final items for consideration. Does anyone know of a site that does this with routers?

For instance, there are 244 models available (probably not far off, which is why the "finder" would be helpful):

The questions could be:
    *Do you intend to mount this in a table? (Now down to 118 choices)
    *Do you need a 1/2" or 1/4" collet? (Now down to 56 choices)
    *Do you want variable speed? (Now down to 22 choices)
    *Do you like D-Handle style? (Now down to 4 choices)

Yadda, yadda, yadda..... eventually finding your way down to a single, few, or "best match" choices.

Anyone know of anything like that for routers? Coincidentally, I know several other people that are in the same exact situation, and find the number of choices dizzying.

I'll probably get a PC 690LRVS. If I don't , I'm gonna build that freakin' website!
    Last edited by MarkSJohnson; 04-03-2009, 06:17 AM.

Re: Router Comparison Chart / Finder?

I don't know of such a chart, but I will suggest taking a good hard look at the Milwaukee 5615 with BodyGrip. If you want/need VS, look at the 5616. While I think the 690 is a fine router, I think more highly of the MW than any other for hand use. For hand use, I've had the MW5615, PC 690, Bosch 1617, Hitachi M12VC, Freud FT1700, and an older Craftsman.

Comment

I 2nd that milwakee.

For hand use it just doesn't get much better.

Comment