18V Kit vs. 24V Kit

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 18V Kit vs. 24V Kit

I bought the R964 18V kit at HD recently, but noticed they had a 24V kit (R931?) for $299.

It looks like Ridgid has done away with th 24V kits, and I saw some posts with people just having problems getting 24V batteries.

What is the general feeling on the 24V stuff, esp. since it is discontinued?

Most of the tasks for these tools will be home improvement type stuff. I can still take the 18V kit back if it makes sense.

Thanks,

Chris

Re: 18V Kit vs. 24V Kit

i have 3 combo kits, 9212, 9213 and 932. the 932 is 24V li. the li batteries weigh less than the comparable 18v nicads and the power is consistent right up to the point where they need to be recharged. i have no experience with 18v li, but i assume the power would be the same as teh 18v nicads but with the no fade perdormance of the li's.
    there's a solution to every problem.....you just have to be willing to find it.

Comment

I've got the 24v kit, along with the maxselect jigsaw, planer, impact, and caulking gun. Personaly, I like them alot. They have alot of power and all work well. The only one that's not up to par is the impact, but I got it for free, so I can't complain. Plus, I got most of them on clearance.

I did have a problem with the batteries in my first kit, but they were replaced for free and I haven't had any further problems. It's my understanding that it was mostly the early 24v batteries that were trouble prone. So, over all I'm happy with my purchase.

With that being said, if I were buying them today, I would probably buy the 18v kit. The biggest reason is I would be concerned about the availability of the 24v batteries down the road. I'm not sure how long Ridgid will make the 24v batteries, or what they will do if you need one replaced and they don't have any.

Comment

Originally posted by sumocomputers View Post