Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• faulty ground on old craftsman tablesaw - need help.

I have an older craftsman tablesaw that has a faulty ground. It started giving me a shock a few weeks ago and I've since stopped using it completely.

It will trip a GFCI outlet as soon as turned on and if I bypass the switch it still trips.

I just bought a new Rigid TS3650 (and am very happy) but would like to fix the old one so I can give it away.

The motor is a Dayton capacity start motor (model 6k484a).

Any ideas what it could be?.
    I really know very little about motors..

thanks

Re: faulty ground on old craftsman tablesaw - need help.

Sal1965,

First let me tell you that I'm not an electrician... but, I've done some electrical work and hold an amateur radio license (so I've got to know something better than just the 'basics'). Electricity is more dangerous than most people comprehend and your saw, as it presently exists, could prove to be fatal if not properly fixed.

The saw appears to me to have two problems, first and foremost is that something is "shorting", allowing electricity to flow outside its designed path and into the saw's frame. Secondly, but equally important is that there's no ground path or at least not one which keeps you from getting shocked.

Normally the path of the electrical current used to operate the saw is isolated (insulated) within the power cord, the switch mechanism, and the motor. There should be NO path between any other component of the saw which allow them to be energized. Likewise, all other conductive areas of the saw need to "grounded" in case that there is a failure of the electrical insulation on these electrical components.