No announcement yet.

Charger problem in the new V3 R963 kit?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Charger problem in the new V3 R963 kit?

Hi All,

New to the forum.. I've been using some of the smaller Ridgid tools for several months and liked them, so last week I decided to buy 2 of the X3 R963 kits for our business. Everything seems fine except the LEDs on the charger blink red and then green when the batteries reach full charge. Both chargers and all the batteries we've tried behave the same, including the half size Li ion packs from the smaller kits. Charger number is CS0839 (same in both kits).

I tried one of the chargers from the other kit (that came with the half size packs), and the green LED comes on and the red LED goes out when the battery is fully charged. (same behavior as with the small packs and consistent with the manual). The charger number in this kit is CS0852.

BTW, exact same charger manual was included in both kits. I would just return the R963 kits to HD, but they don't have anymore in stock... and I really like the tools (not to mention the great deal at 30% off). If the chargers are defective, it seems odd that I got 2 lemons...so I'm thinking something else is up. The chargers seem to charge the batteries OK, it's just the bloody blinking at the end makes it seem like you have a defective battery....

Anybody have a clue as to what is going on? Or seen this in their X3 kits?

thanks,
    Craig
    Last edited by cmedwards; 05-08-2009, 10:01 PM. Reason: typos

Re: Charger problem in the new V3 R963 kit?

Originally posted by cmedwards View Post
    Hi All,