X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rapid Max charger stopped working

I am new to the forum and will appreciate any advice.

I purchased two cordless drills complete with a Rapid Max charger less than a year ago. I'm not a professional and have not given them much use except for projects around the house where they've worked flawlessly until this week when the Rapid Max charger seemed to quit on me. When I plug it in to the outlet the light will go on for a few seconds and then go off. When I slide in a battery to re-charge, no light goes on and the batteries do not charge.

I guess the obvious answer is that it is dead and needs to be replaced but I thought I'd reach out to the forun in case there was a magic solution...

Thanks
    Last edited by jjohnson; 05-26-2009, 03:18 PM. Reason: spelling

Re: Rapid Max charger stopped working

Originally posted by jjohnson View Post
    I thought I'd reach out to the forun in case there was a magic solution...

Thanks
    I heard if you sprinkle Unicorn's horn dust onto the battery terminals, it brings it back to life. Bring it to a service center along with your receipt.

Comment

Are your batteries NiCad or Lithium? If they are NiCad, the charge can drop so low that they don't get recognized as batteries. There are some previous posts on this forum that give some advice on how to recondition NiCads with this problem if you do a search.

If you have Lithium batteries, don't try to recondition them, just go to the service center.

Comment

If the battery was the problem, the charger would indicate a defective battery. From what you have described it seems like it is the charger. It should be covered by the 3 year warranty provided you still have the receipt.