Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
Wiring the Ridgid 6800 Watt Generator into my house breaker panel Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wiring the Ridgid 6800 Watt Generator into my house breaker panel

I just purchased a 6800 watt generator as a solution to our all-too-frequent power outages here in southern Michigan. My question is, on my 25 foot cord which plugs into the control panel on the generator, what are the 3 & 1 plug-ins for. I see where they plug into the generator, right next to the twist-loc plug, but where are they applicable when it comes to my house? Yes, I am an electrical novice and will have the work done by a professional.

Re: Wiring the Ridgid 6800 Watt Generator into my house breaker panel

You need to have a generator transfer switch installed. It is a safety device to prevent your generator from feeding power back into the grid. It is not a major project for an electrician. Do a search for generator transfer switch on the internet for more information.
    When seconds count, the police are only minutes away.

Comment

You will want to have an electrician install a load transfer switch something like this one.
      http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...1033_200321033

Then you'll use a special super extension cord similar to this to connect it to your generator. Please note these come in different lengths and different ratings. You want one with a L14-30P plug on one end and a L14-30 connector on the other end. It will have a 10-4 type SOW or similar cable.
      http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...1324_200221324

On your generator look for a receptacle mounted on the control panel that looks about like the one in the picture below. As for the special extension cord(s) they are for use when you are wanting to connect power tools and such to the generator but won't be used when it gets setup for home standby service.