Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid R7000 vs. R70002: Can I use a drill as a driver too?

I'm a complete novice to power tools, but I was doing researching on my first drill/driver and came upon 2 models on Home Depot's website.

R7000 - description only calls it a "drill"
    R70002 - description calls it a "drill/driver"

Both are the same price and specifications look about the same too.

My question is, if I purchased the R7000, would I still be able to use it as a driver? (I'm mainly using the tool to install some closet cabinets and window curtains, which requires me to insert screws, not use make holes with a drill. Will it be really hard to find the screwdriving bit for this model? Thanks.

Re: Ridgid R7000 vs. R70002: Can I use a drill as a driver too?

Both of these are low torque, high speed drills. While you can drive small wood screws with either, that's not what they are made for. These are to drill holes in wood (mostly) and small holes in metal. For screw driving you really would be better off with a geared down drill or better yet an impact driver or power screwdriver. You will want some manor of a drill however. Drilling pilot holes for screws driven into wood is a must in many cases.

As for finding the bits, if you use a drill with a chuck, you would want hex shank power screwdriver bits and they are pretty easy to find. Don't limit yourself to Home Depot as in many cases a good hardware store or better yet a tool dealer will have a better selection.

For working on curtain and drapery rod installation you won't need larger screws and I think you would find a cordless straight rotation power screwdriver to be your handy little friend. Trying to drive screws with any drill takes practice and some skil or you'll drive them in too far or strip them, or bust off the heads. Then the bad times roll in.