Announcement

Announcement Module
Collapse

How To Post Images

Want to know the how to upload images to your posts? Image Posting Tutorial
See more
See less

3/8" corded right angle drills - recommendations?

Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 3/8" corded right angle drills - recommendations?

My Milwaukee 0370-20 (3/8" corded right-angle drill, about $130 new these days) finally gave it up yesterday after years of faithful service. I'm wondering if anyone has a recommendation among the following:

- Another Milwaukee 0370-20
    - Bosch 1132VSR
    - Makita DA3010F

I'm an electrician, 100% of my work is residential remodels/additions; the bulk of my drilling is for 12 and 14-gauge wiring through single or sistered 2x4's. I'm happy with my cordless drill and my Ridgid 1/2", but the bulk of my work has been done with the Milwaukee.

I'm looking for the best replacement for it: lightweight, good for tight areas but strong & reliable enough for all-purpose use. I'd be happy with another Milwaukee, but is it worth an extra $75 to go with the Makita or Bosch? All opinions welcome.

Thanks!
    Last edited by kevinabb; 11-25-2009, 06:15 AM. Reason: typo

Re: 3/8" corded right angle drills - recommendations?

As a professional, the shop I work in has tried several different versions over the years. We have finally decided to stick with the Makita exclusively. The pro's are many, lots of power, quite compact and fairly lightweight. The only negative is the chuck key. Sometimes we have made the mistake of touching the paddle switch when trying to tighten the chuck. Once you get used to it, it's not much of a problem.

Comment

The Bosch 1132VSR is a tried and proven one and many people really like Makita. I have an old timer Makita that's no longer made but it has done lots of good work for me. With all that said you might want to take a look at the Hitachi D10YB while looking around.