Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Use my Drill to Cut Metal Tube (w/small cir. saw)?

I'm a power tool novice so thought I'd ask her in the friendly Experts forum. Here's the setup:

Because I've had drilling/driving needs maybe 4 or 5 times a year (I'm 52), I finally purchased a standard consumer-type corded drill that both drills and drives (it has a clutch). I admit, I've just always wanted a drill.

Anyway, underneath my patio table there is solid metal tubing (maybe 3/8" in circumference) that is there ONLY to help guide a proprietary umbrella shaft to fit in the table. I happen to have my own umbrella which is larger than the optional proprietary umbrella. However, the small size of the hole in this metal guide is the only thing precluding me from installing my umbrella. It is entirely expendable and I want to remove it.

To remove this 3/8"-thick metal guide I would only need to cut through it in two places.

Yes I have a hacksaw and at over 200 lbs am strong enough to use it. However, bearing in mind I DID get this damn drill and know there are sanding attachments, paint-stirring attachments and on and on, I would just like IT to supply the power to cut it. I guess I'm a little stubborn (if anybody can relate).

Because of that I have to wonder: is there some type of round/circular metal-cutting attachment I can put into the drill to make these two cuts, and if so could you identify them and/or supply links (I was unsuccessful in locating them) should they exist?

I apologize for my ignorance but hope someone can educate me on this. Thank you kindly.

Re: Use my Drill to Cut Metal Tube (w/small cir. saw)?

hole saw, bi-metal

come in many sizes, go to home depot or lowes and look in the drill bit section.

good luck and be careful.

G3

I see you are a lawyers helper, good luck with the case also
    Last edited by G3sprinklers; 02-12-2010, 03:06 PM.

Comment