No announcement yet.

Random Orbit Sander problem with PSA sanding disc

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Random Orbit Sander problem with PSA sanding disc

Ok, so I am new with this but I've used the Random Orbit Sander R2600 for a few projects over the past 5 years. Today, the pressure Sensitive Adhesive sanding Pad tore away, or came unglued, or separated from the area below it. I took out the 4 screws that hold that in, but not sure what to do to put another pad on to not have this happen again.

any thoughts?

Re: Random Orbit Sander problem with PSA sanding disc

Don't put so much downward pressure on the sander when you sand, let the sander do the work. To often it's a common practice for people to do this but all it really accomplishes is prematurely wearing out the sander and the pad.
    ================================================== ====
    All of us could take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.

First you will need a new disc. The main culprits in the sanding pad's demise (PSA for certain but also applies to hook & Loop) are heat and chemicals

Heat from friction, caused by the sandpaper loading up with soft coating, bearing down on it too hard, or just using it until all the grit is gone, will cause the pad surface to unglue from the foam/rubber base.

Chemicals, like it gets when wet sanding with mineral spirits or thinner, or using WD-40, etc when wet sanding metal, will also deteriorate the rubber base pad. Some of the glue cleaners used to get the glue residue off the pad can also deteriorate it. Never use acetone or lacquer thinner, as they will dissolve the base pad.

Sometimes the deterioration just continues after the sander is put up, and when you go to use it, the rubber starts crumbling. I had that happen to me after using Goo-Gone cleaner on one, so now I use a rag dampened with denatured alcohol.