Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

RIDGID 3000psi pressure washer (Gas in the Oil)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RIDGID 3000psi pressure washer (Gas in the Oil)

I started up my pressure washer and it started I had pressure and was using it for about 5 minutes before it shut off. It would no start and i could smell gas. Waited about an 1 hr and it started white smoke coming from exhaust but again worked for about 5 minutes before dieing again. Read post here and suggestion that the oil level might be low so I opened it and it was way over full and the oil was very thin and while cleaning up it had a strong gas smell to it. Yes gas in the oil HOW ??? What do I do to correct????

thanks

jim

Re: RIDGID 3000psi pressure washer (Gas in the Oil)

I'm no expert, but you need to drain the oil. Refill oil so the oil level is half way between the "X"'s on the dipstick, not to the top of stick. You may also need to clean out the air filter compartment, it prob has oil in it as well.

Comment

Hello
      What did this turn out to be? I have the same issue today and I can't find any similar threads.

Comment

Mine has a strong smell of gas in the oil as well... mine is the 3300psi model... not very happy about it.

Comment

Got the 3000 psi model with the subaru engine and it's been good for the first 9 or so months but today it died twice with a big belch of smoke each time. Checked the oil and it overflowed and was very thin and smells of gas. I drained it into a clear container to see if it separates but I think the two fluids are pretty well mixed and aren't separating into layers. Pretty annoyed myself as it's only on it's third tank of gas so I wouldn't expect seals or gaskets to be worn this quickly. Hoping it's something dumb like a fuel overflow line draining into the crankcase somehow but that's wishful thinking I'm sure! Looking forward to hearing how the initial poster handled the issue!

Comment