Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do I need a drill press

Hello everyone.

I have had a small delta benchtop drill press for a couple of years and have never used it. I have listed it on craigslist but am now having second thoughts. It seems all the articles I read on "must have tools" include a drill press. Problem is, I can't find uses for it. Am I missing something? It seems like with such a small table there is no way to use the drill press on a larger piece of wood (I am a weekend hobbyist)

So, in your expert opinions, should I actually keep this thing or am I correct in not using it for building basic furniture.

thanks,
    Dennis

Re: Do I need a drill press

Two days after you sell it you'll need it. On the other hand it could be that the projects you do will never require one. If you haven't used it since you bought it then maybe you don't but I'll still bet that two days after you sell it you'll need it.
    Teach your kids about taxes..........eat 30 percent of their ice cream.

Comment

I agree with BadgerDave plus if you sell it you will only get a portion of what you paid for it, a benchtop model won't take much room to store and then when you need it you'll have it. As far as the table size you can buy a drill press table or build a shop one, to enlarge it. That's on my list to do. Pat

Comment

I have had a floor model drill press for about 25 years and wouldn't be without one. I'm really not sure how useful a bench model would be... probably not as versatile as a floor model but still I bet it would be useful.

However, you certainly CAN build basic furniture without a drill press. There are many types of joinery that are very suitable for furniture and do not require a drill press.