X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Battery question from 2003 purchase

I bought my Ridgid tool set back in 2003. I have the four piece combo, as well as an angle grinder and sander.
    I also searched the forum on "warranty 2003" to see if I could find any info.

The Ridgid literature at the time didn't say anything about registering the hardware. The original warranty information can be found here:
    http://replay.web.archive.org/200310...ceWarranty.pdf

I'm pretty sure I registered because that's the kind of guy I am. I still have the original receipts.

It's been almost 10 years. I'm a light user and occasional military deployer; I'm not a pro and these things have been great but just aren't holding a charge very long any more. Anyone have any experience swapping out really old batteries with faded receipts?

I tried calling the Tucson local dealer, but can't get an answer until Monday.

Thank you.

Re: Battery question from 2003 purchase

Supposed to be able to get batteries as long as you are alive.

J.C.

Comment

Likely you have the Ni-cad batteries. 8 years of abuse is not bad.
      Go to E-bay and buy some new batteries. or get them rebuilt.

Cactus Man
      Last edited by cactusman; 05-07-2011, 08:04 PM.

Comment

Yes, they're old 18.0 volt NiCd MaxHC batteries. I don't see any definitive "yes" or "no" that people have had problems without registering, so that's encouraging. I'll call the local authorized dealer on Monday and see what I need. I'll bring in all my receipts and a copy of the PDF that doesn't say you have to register.

Comment