X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Used TS3650 questions

Hi, all. New to the forums. While not new to woodwork, I'm new to doing bigger and bigger projects. My inexpensive portable Craftsman wasn't getting the job done. Last week I found a 3-year old TS3650 for sale on Craigslist and picked it up on Monday for $150, sans blade, blade guard and splitter. As I had a couple brand new carbide blades, I thought that was OK. Table is in good condition, no rust to speak of. Motor has no vibration and the arbor runs smooth. I took a friend along who is a life-long shop man and he said that for the price I was getting a good deal.

As I have been tightening up the nuts and bolts on the stand, the Herc-U-Lift isn't working. If I press down on the large stainless pedal, it locks down and the saw is stationary, but when press on the orange release the wheels do not drop down. Part of the reason I wanted this saw was due to the good things I read about this lift. This is a heavy saw and I really need it to be somewhat mobile or my use will be hampered in my limited garage space. Does the lift just work off of gravity or are there supposed to be springs involved? If anyone has a pic of how this should work, I would appreciate seeing it. Part of the problem might be my levelers are maxed out - if I shorten them up, will that make a difference?

As a final note, I do want to replace the blade guard and splitter. Should I go with a Ridgid or is there a decent (read: mid-price) after-market that will work on this saw?

Thanks, all.
    Quoheleth

Re: Used TS3650 questions

Originally posted by quoheleth View Post
    As I have been tightening up the nuts and bolts on the stand, the Herc-U-Lift isn't working. If I press down on the large stainless pedal, it locks down and the saw is stationary, but when press on the orange release the wheels do not drop down.

Thanks, all.
    Quoheleth