X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RD6800 Generator: Lightbulbs flicker when using

I'm new to Ridgid and new to these forums. Thanks in advance for your help.
    I recently bought a RD6800 Generator from HD and when the power went out at home I plugged in some lights to it and they were flickering, bad, almost like strobe lights. It was annoying--nearly to the point of causing seizures. Okay, so maybe that's a little dramatic...but it was awful. I think I'd rather live by candle and flashlight.
    Anyway, I've never owned a generator before so maybe this is normal but it doesn't seem right to me.
    Can anyone clue me in? Is this normal? If not, is it easily correctable?

Re: RD6800 Generator: Lightbulbs flicker when using

Incandescent bulbs or CFL?
    "HONK if you've never seen a gun fired from a moving Harley"

Comment

Good point. Incandescent. I tried a few different lamps and they also produced the same result. In fact, I just fired up the generator through my transfer switch to test that out (I installed it after the power outage) and it makes my incandescent bulbs on the live circuits flicker as well. Bad generator?

Comment

Originally posted by DBallman View Post
        ... and it makes my incandescent bulbs on the live circuits flicker as well.
        You mean the lights that are still running on municipal power?
        Try this. Genny running, plug in ONE (and only one) lamp. No other lights, nothing else plugged into the genny. Still flickering?

Comment

Sorry. My previous post wasn't very clear. I turned off the main so no municipal power, then turned on the genny to test the transfer switch.
          Anyway, just ran outside with one lamp and plugged it in. Same result...annoying flicker.

Comment

I have multiple gennies (for different specific purposes) and none of them cause incandescent bulbs to flicker enough to be annoying.