Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ridgid R4512 Assembly Troubles

Hello everyone,
    So I finally gathered up some time this weekend to assemble my new Ridgid R4512 that I was very excited about. Let me preface this by saying I'm a novice and this is the first TS I've ever had to assemble so I apologize out of the gates if my questions and complaints/issues are ignorant. Just keep this in mind when answering and dumbing everything down to its core is preferred

1) It took me forever to get the caster system correct. I put it together like the instructions outlined and got the saw upright. It didn't work. I flipped it back over and took three more cracks at it. As it turns out, the rear axel had to be rotated 180 degrees to work properly (something I realized far too late and now after Googling see I'm not the only one that had this issue) and the front axel didn't have the leg connectors connected the right way from the factory. Since this took about 4 tries to do, I ended up accidentally stripping some of the allen head screws that hold the leg assembly together so taking the legs apart is no longer an option, but at least the whole bottom part of the saw is working properly now so unless I need to take it apart to return it, I shouldn't have an issue there.

2) I had a bunch of residue on the cast iron top. I tried a bunch of household cleaners (grease lightning, CLR for stainless steel, and rubbing alcohol) but couldn't get it off (only slightly). As you can see by the image, it's still on there quite a bit.

How can I get this stuff off?