Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need info for ripping and framing blades

Hello forum goers,

My name is Steven and I am a design student in Charlotte north Carolina. I am currently working on a project to market a certain type of ripping and framing blades for a circular saw. In particular, 7-1/4", 24t, micro-grain carbide tip. I need information on what professionals like yourselves look for in a ripping and framing blade. Also if you could include your job title, age and sex that would be much appreciated.

Thanks so much!
    -Steven

Re: Need info for ripping and framing blades

when I was framing up a house or building, I usually bought what I thought were deals at the time, a low cost blade that could take a lot of abuse, I tried some of the thin kerfed and special tooth designs that were to cut the power requirements, but since I used a worm drive saw, survivability and cost was the two biggest factors I looked for, at the time the ones I liked were the block toothed carbide that could cut nails and concrete that had been left on boards that may have been used for forms, and could go for a good wile, usually until there were few teeth left,

I usually bought a 10 pack of what was called a "Contractors Saw Blade". and I would keep a few high tooth count blades for plywood, or sheet goods,

now this was mostly when the carbide blades were coming out and for about 10 to 15 years after, before I had my own sharpening equipment for steel blades, since than I have done nearly no framing for hire,

I remember trying the piranha blades that had that thin curved tooth, nice blade and took very little power to operate, (was a good shop blade, but there was much better shop blades out there), but even a hard knot would do a tooth in, and it was nearly destroyed if it hit a nail or cement crust, on a board,

yes one more or less needs a similar blade for cordless saw, as there gut less,