Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to get cuts faster with a grinder?

Hello, I have been cutting this ductile iron soil pipe for awhile now and I am getting absolutely burned out. I bought the piping from someone on craigslist to sell to a metal yard so I am cutting the 20ft pipes into 3rds and loading it into my truck.

However each cut on each pipe is taking me around 15 minutes to complete, so that's 30 minutes per pipe! I rented a ratcheting soil pipe cutter but the chain snapped and didn't hurt the pipe. I have been using an angle grinder with an abrasive cut-off disc. I am using a generator and 150v grinder.
    Thanks in advanced for any tips.

Re: How to get cuts faster with a grinder?

My 14" hilti Gas saw would do a fast job. Also being a welder I have a Large grizzly
    Box band saw. You could cut a # at once ,and do a choir while it cuts automatically. Also My 14" Makita chop saw would be faster than what You have ,I believe. What is #1 Iron Bringing in Your area a ton ?
    Last edited by toolaholic; 03-18-2012, 07:59 PM.
    I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

ductile iron is a bit*h to cut. a sledge hammer bounces off of it.

my 14'' gas cut off saw is all that will touch it.

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

Originally posted by PLUMBER RICK View Post
        ductile iron is a bit*h to cut. a sledge hammer bounces off of it.

my 14'' gas cut off saw is all that will touch it.

rick.
        Many years ago I was scrapping #1 iron. to Qualify It had to beat least, thick as a pencil, no more than 18" wide
        No longer than 60" 1976 $180.00 per ton , Boston. One ton was one Mortgage payment on our New home ! Now it isn't a car payment !
        I can build anything You want , if you draw a picture of it , on the back of a big enough check .

Comment

1976 $180.00 per ton