X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I am learning how to use an impact driver

I recently purchased the 18V drill/driver combo.

18-Volt Drill/Impact Driver Combo 2-Piece-R96862SB at The Home Depot

I have never used an impact driver before. I have always just gotten by with using a drill. Sometimes on real hard wood I would predrill, then back out and drive a screw with the drill.

In trying out this impact driver I am having some real difficulty.

First thing I did was to toe nail some 2x4 studs to the bottom and top plates using 2-1/2" drywall screws. The drill bit slips off the screw quite frequently. Is this because I am using philips screws and I should use better screws like square or star bits? I found that I need to apply pressure as I drive - which is what I had to do with a drill.

The impact driver comes equipped with a hex socket. However it is not magnetic or it grabs the bit, so when I point the driver down it slips off. On my regular drill I use one of these:

Wera Stainless Rapidaptor 3888/4/1 K Universal Bit Holder for 1/4-Inch Hex Drives

So if I put in a bit it stays. Is there some tricks I need so I can avoid dropping the bit whenever my driver is tilted downward a bit.

Last, what is the purpose of the reverse action? Back screws out?

I am sure I am not using it right so any tips and tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Re: I am learning how to use an impact driver

I'm not familiar with the x3 impact, but you either have to pull back or push forward on the collar and the bit should fall in and lock. You do the same to remove it, the manual should explain this.

You still need pressure on the tool to drive screws, but hex and square screws are superior.

Comment

Originally posted by Alphacowboy View Post