Announcement Announcement Module
Collapse
No announcement yet.
R4141 Abrasive cut-off ( chop saw) Questions NOT covered or addressed in Manual Page Title Module
Move Remove Collapse
X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• R4141 Abrasive cut-off ( chop saw) Questions NOT covered or addressed in Manual

Hello ALL:

I needed a tool for cutting metal accurately so I bought 14 in. Abrasive Cut-Off Machine-R4141 at The Home Depot

I have never used one of these before but I set it up and went at it but have a few easy questions that aren't obvious to me.
    1. Manual doesn't mention what replacement 14" disc I can use for this saw.
    2. Is one on brand of abrasive dics better over another?
    3. Obviously a thinner disc may spin faster and be a greater force mulitplier to cut through a given piece of stock but is there an optimum thickness I can or should use?
    4. Can I use a different blade on this saw for cutting wood? Can I use this as a WOOD type of mitre saw if I use the appropriate blade?
    5. Are these abrasive discs known for catastrophic failure while cutting material resulting in personal injury?

Re: R4141 Abrasive cut-off ( chop saw) Questions NOT covered or addressed in Manual

there are various hardness of the blades, and there blades for different materials as well, (there are even abrasive blades for stone and concrete) ,

Usually if there is an assortment there will be some indication of what there best suited for,
    yesterday I bought some Dewalt brand for $3 each (14"), and they also had some at over $10, each, some for thin, and some for thick and various hardness of steel and type of steel,
    (on the farm here I usually just get the general purpose blades), more of a compromise of all the features, some life, and will cut a reasonable thickness, and most materials.

If the arbor size is correct and the blade speed rating is compatible with the saw,