Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New RD8000 Starting Problems

Greetings!

New fellow here to the RIDGID Forums and am looking forward to learning on here which I'm finding to be the case. Well, I bought the RIDGID RD8000 Generator yesterday NIB from THD. After reading about it on this forum, the included Manual and YouTube, seems I'm having difficulty starting the generator. Fuel, oil, are "fresh" and just added. Spark plug is clean. Looked over the unit and there's no perceived loose wires or connections that I'm aware of.

The Troubleshooting Guide in the manual I've gone over and try as I may, for some reason it still doesn't want to fire up. It does turn and "whine" for lack of a better word, but just does not want to power on its own steam. Is there something that I've missed, am doing wrong? Certainly when it comes to electrical/mechanical, I'm no expert at all. Please advise and thanks for your consideration!

Re: New RD8000 Starting Problems

Make sure the fuel shutoff valve is open.

Check the oil level per the manuals instructions to make sure its correct, or else the low oil cutoff will kick in and the thing will never start.

Comment

i believe that drdeere on another post mentioned that the factory oil pint was not enough. double check the oil level on a flat surface and fill it up to the full mark.

also make sure there is a full tank of gas too. a partial tank might not prime the pump or gravity feed.

drdeere will have the real answer when he reads this.

rick.
      phoebe it is

Comment

I'll first assume that with all the steps you've covered, ensuring that the fuel valve is "on" was one of them.
        Also, like Rick mentioned, proper oil level and enough fuel to get the flow started are both critical.