Ryobi lithium batteries

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ryobi lithium batteries

I know this is the Ridgid site, but I also assume that some here have had experience with Ryobi tools.

I have several of the larger Ryobi, 18-volt lithium batteries, and recently two of them went bad on me. Neither will hold a charge for more than a short while, and one will not charge up past the yellow power-level point at all. I have tried charging overnight, but still could not get them to work. I have two others that are working fine, plus one of the smaller ones that also works fine. The two that have failed had been sitting in reserve for several months (I like to rotate the pairs), and it was after that rest period that they would not respond to charging. I have been using this rest and recharge technique for several years with both pairs and each time things worked just fine. Not this time, though.

I decided to open them up for a look before taking them to the recycle center. (You need a pair of special torx screwdriver tips to do this.) In one of them, two of the ten cells were leaking, with obvious deterioration. In the other four of the ten cells were in the same deteriorated condition. All other cells looked OK. This is a pretty bad failure rate for cells installed in batteries that cost ninety bucks apiece.

Anybody else here had similar failure experiences?

Howard Ferstler

Re: Ryobi lithium batteries